How Long Do I Have to Wait to Remarry in Florida after Divorce?
Not everyone is interested in getting remarried as soon as their divorce is finalized, but plenty of people do. If you’re in this situation, perhaps you found someone you just click with really quickly or maybe you found “the one” while dating during your divorce. It’s also not uncommon for people to want to quickly get hitched to those with whom they had an affair in their previous marriage.
Ultimately, how you found your new beloved and why you want to marry them is irrelevant, as far as the law in Florida is concerned. In fact, there are really only a few requirements you need to meet to get remarried after a divorce in Florida.
Those requirements include the following:
- Proof of divorce or annulment
- Both fiancées are 18 years old (a few exceptions may apply) and meet the legal requirements to marry
- A wedding ceremony must be conducted within 60 days of the license insurance
If noticed that we didn’t include a waiting period for remarrying after a divorce, that wasn’t a mistake.In Florida, there is no such waiting period to remarry after a divorce.
There is, however, a mandatory three-day waiting period after a license is issued that must pass before two people can get married. This waiting period applies regardless of any prior marriages either spouse had. If couples wish to waive this waiting period, they can opt to complete a state-approved pre-marital course.